“A Memoir”

I sit outside, staring at the setting sun, evoking
everything that has happened to us.
I draw in a drag from my cigarette and breathe it out slowly,
smiling at the scores of adventures we had during
our tenure together.

The unruffled wind propels into my face, making me squint,
distributing cool chills down my spine.
I take another puff and exhale out, recollecting the instance
when I dragged you and your contacts out to pace
in the forsaken ranch at the back our neighborhood.
I can retain how you appeared and smelled that
abnormally warm October afternoon… gorgeous and engaging.
A smile traverses my face, and I emit a sigh of love.

I augment from my chair and toddle toward
the road, drawing in once again,
summoning the time our camaraderie grew to be more than that.
A tear of contentment skims along my cheek,
as I commit to memory the first
time you said “I love you”.
My bedspread covered our frigid,
secure bodies and I had just completed
confessing each feeling I had ever
experienced for you through our
friendship, little realizing that
you were going to tell me that you felt the
identical and sought to be with me,
for I had more or less ventured with my heart.
I can only heed those three words
as I brush my cigarette into the air stream,
leasing the breeze transmit it to wherever I can only envision.

About Robert L. Franklin

Ah, the About Me section - social networking's excuse for you sounding like an elitist prick. Hmm... what to say? What to say?
This entry was posted in Springtime In Atlantis and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

